Home CDs Wendy Lanchin Wendy Lanchin: Walking After Midnight

Wendy Lanchin: Walking After Midnight


2016 album by London-based folk and jazz singer

Categories: , Tag:


P&P: £1.50 UK/Isle of Man/Channel Islands; £3.50 Europe; £4.50 RotW

Wendy’s background was in musical theatre and cabaret, before coming to jazz and folk. She has sung in clubs and bars across London including Pizza Express, Hugo’s and the Vortex and hosted monthly residencies at the Elixir Bar and Jackdaw Jazz Club.

She later added folk to her repertoire, learning with Hazel Askew of Lady Maisery fame, and for a number of years devised and led an annual folk event, Folk & Flowers, as part of the Chelsea Fringe Festival in London.

Her most recent project was an evening of Tom Waits’ songs and anecdotes which toured in London and the South East.

Walking After Midnight is her first CD, released in 2016, reflecting her eclectic taste in music and a preference for emotionally charged songs. Produced by Paul Higgs for Toucan Tango Music Ltd and featuring Paul Higgs (keyboard, trumpet and melodica) and Alex Keen (bass and guitar). “A lovely, flexible voice … she sounds simply fabulous in lower registers” – Nuncius

Track listing

  1. Caramel
  2. Walking After Midnight
  3. I Think It’s Going To Rain Today
  4. Temptation
  5. Head
  6. He Moved Through The Fair
  7. I Can’t Stand The Rain
  8. If These Old Walls
  9. My One And Only
  10. Your Heart Is As Black As Night
  11. Walk On By
  12. Angel Eyes